Being Better


           This is part three of the Take My Gallbladder Please story.

I had surgery for the first time in my life. I was in a lot of pain, but it was a good recovery pain. I had to get my gallbladder removed after it was determined that I had a large number of gallstones. Not only that the stones were the size of dime and nickels. I was on rest for a few days and I had to be off work for about ten days. I took the opportunity to make this not just a recovery period, but a chance to do some things that I have been meaning to begin. For starters I got some writing done that I have had stored up in my mind for a while.

The first day home has been mostly liquids and a lot of jello. I love jello, and as the catchy commercial once said, “there’s always room for J-E-L-L-O”, but I was happy to move on to soup on day two, and some graham crackers. I also had a bit of bread, and water, lots and lots of water. I enjoyed some juice, cranberry and apple, but it was nice to add some smoothies.

I got a lot more time on Facebook and cruising around the internet which is giving me a good fix for all the reading I want to do. I managed to get through a Neil Gaiman book I was working on. I didn’t get around to writing any more chapters of my own book, but I’m sure I will eventually. I think I overshot the mark on how much stuff I would get done while I was on my mandated rest time. But it is good to be ambitious if one wants to accomplish anything, in my opinion.

I also intended to use my forced diet to just start eating healthier in general. I’m also considering a few other healthy lifestyle changes. I may begin taking up some meditation. As with all new things I’ll be starting light. One minute today, two minutes tomorrow and so on in a natural progression. I’ve always stayed relatively healthy, but that doesn’t mean I can’t still make improvements.

        Perhaps this surgery was just the motivation I needed. Perhaps we could all use a little motivation. Not necessarily to be healthier, because some of us are pretty healthy. But even if you’re not healthy, I encourage you, if not motivate you, to be better. Start small; be better in one small area, in one small way. Maybe add on a little bit every day. You never know what you can accomplish until you attempt it. If you fail, you tried, and you can learn from that failure. If you learn then you’ve already accomplished something, and you’re already better for it.

        If you want to tell me about some of the things you’ve tried, I’ll do my level best to read through them. Remember it’s not about whether or not you failed, but whether or not you tried and learned. Let me know some of the things you’ve tried that have made you better. I’d like to try my hand at responding to you. Until then, take care.

4.1.1

(Photo from http://www.rutgersprep.org)

2 comments

  1. I’m a big believer of making small steps, too. When something seems too daunting to change, baby steps are sometimes the only way to make it happen. But eventually those steps add up to something bigger. Here’s wishing you well on your new changes. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Carrie. I’m going to try to pull a few blog posts out of this topic too. One can never be too ambitious… well maybe sometimes, but I don’t think I’m there yet.

      Like

Now that I've insulted you, tell me how you really feel...

