I’m a NaNoWriMo Loser (And That’s Okay).


I was trying to think of how to sum up my first NaNoWriMo experience. It turns out somebody else already did it perfectly. Please enjoy this post from Under Different Stars.

under different stars

2013-Participant-Facebook-Cover

November is the month many exciting things happen. My wedding anniversary, birthdays for two of my kids, Thanksgiving, Movember, and more. But as a writer, one of the coolest things about November is NaNoWriMo, or for the acronym-averse among us, National Novel Writing Month. The idea is simple. Write 50,000 words during the month of November.

Notice I said the idea is simple.

The reality is much harder. Which is why of the three times I’ve attempted to “win” NaNoWriMo, I’ve never even gotten close. November is also, without fail, a month that piles up with busyness very easily. (Those things I listed above play a big part, except for Movember. That one pretty much takes care of itself.) So not only is it hard to find time to write with the normal full-time job and full-time family life, but all the extra stuff makes it near-impossible.

But…

View original post 364 more words

3 comments

  1. […] I’m a NaNoWriMo Loser (And That’s Okay). (themathmaster.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. […] I’m a NaNoWriMo Loser (And That’s Okay). (themathmaster.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  3. […] I’m a NaNoWriMo Loser (And That’s Okay). (themathmaster.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Now that I've insulted you, tell me how you really feel...

