A Father’s Love


A Father’s Love

He is four

He is thirty-four

There is a sickness from his mouth

He wipes the spewed chunks off both of them

His dark matter explodes

He plunges his hands in to remove the waste

His yellow liquid evacuates

He is doused while cleaning him

He is put in the tub

He turns on the water

The shower pours down on them like his tears

His tears pour down like the shower that cleanses them

He shivers in the boiling water

He warms his son in his arms and says “I love you.”

Father and Son

4 comments

  1. As someone who doesn’t even like poetry (as you know), I DID like this man. Though maybe I didn’t get it..? I’m fairly certain I did though.

    Like

    1. I’m sure you got it. Mostly I’m sure because I wrote it and I’m not that deep. Blunt spoons have been sharper than me at times.

      This poem was inspired by recent true life events, and while I’m not the least bit poetic I couldn’t help but write it.

      I’m glad you liked it and I’m even happier that you decided to stop by and comment.

      Like

  2. Beautiful poem… I loved the imaginery of parenthood and the last verses are truly meaningful..

    Best wishes, Aquileana 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m glad you like it. It’s been a long time since I’ve taken a crack at poetry. But recent events inspired me. Thank you for stopping by and your kind comment.

      Like

Now that I've insulted you, tell me how you really feel...

